top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen G.

Philly and New England: The Really Important Match Up... SANDWICHES

So, this weekend the Eagles play the Patriots to see who can lay claim to the title of"Best Team in the NFL". But you knew that! My first thought when I found out Philly and New England were going to be matched up was that each area is known for a pretty famous sandwich: Philly cheesesteak and lobster roll, respectively.

The Philly cheesesteak is arguably the more popular of the two outside of their own stomping grounds, but eating a lobster roll is pretty much a requirement for any New England bucket list.


Philly Cheesesteak

Steak, cheese, peppers, onions, bun. These are the key components. There is some argument as to whether the cheese should be cheese wiz, American, or provolone.. Personally, I prefer provolone. I also add Beano's Horseradish Sauce to give it an extra little kick. But I add horseradish sauce to just about everything!


This sandwich is one that is delicious in Philly, but also translates well outside of Philly. You can even get chipped or shaved beef either at the butcher or in the freezer section. In my area, they even have a package called "Philly Beef"!


Lobster Roll

I don't know why, but to me, this sandwich has always seemed so fancy! It's really just lobster meat, mayo, butter, celery, and a split top bun. Maybe it's the lobster.. or the fact that New England, in general, just seems super fancy to me. Not gonna lie, I added some Beano's Horseradish to my lobster roll as well!


Either way, this sandwich is TO DIE FOR if you get it in New England! The lobster is super fresh, the mayo/butter compound they toss it in is superb, and they basically just really know what they're doing up there when it comes to lobster rolls. Though, any time I've ordered one more than a couple hours away from the northern coast, it's just not the culinary experience you get when you actually have an authentic New England lobster roll.


So, in my opinion, if I'm eating at home or anywhere other than New England, I'll take a cheesesteak. If I'm going to either Philly or New England, I'll be having the lobster roll... extra butter, please!


We want to hear from you! What's your favorite? Who are you rooting for on Sunday?


Next Week: Between the Bread will be all about love... and preparing you for Valentine's Day! Make your Valentine's day with our sweet lunch box ideas.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page